What is the name of capital city in Malaysia?

Kuala Lumpur, officially the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, or commonly known as KL, is the national capital of Malaysia as well as its largest city. It is among the fastest growing metropolitan regions in South-East Asia, in both population and economic development.

How many capital city are there in Malaysia?

State Capitals Of Malaysia

Alongside the three federal districts in Malaysia are thirteen state capitals mentioned below: Johor Bahru- located in southern Malaysia Johor Bahru is the state capital of Johor.

Is Kuala Lumpur a city or state?

Kuala Lumpur is one of the three federal territories of Malaysia, enclaved within the state of Selangor, on the central west coast of Peninsular Malaysia.

Kuala Lumpur
Establishment 1857
City status 1 February 1972
Transferred to federal jurisdiction 1 February 1974

How many cities are there in Malaysia?

281 Cities in Malaysia, Major Malaysia city list, Malaysia cities name.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Do I need work visa for Singapore?

What is the name of the cities in Malaysia?

Malaysia Cities : Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Malacca, Kuantan.

Which state is the biggest in Malaysia?

Selangor is Malaysia’s most populous state, as well as the state with the largest economy in terms of gross domestic product.

What is Malaysia famous for?

What is Malaysia Famous For?

  • The Petronas Towers. One of Malaysia’s most recognisable and iconic landmarks is the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur. …
  • Stunning Coastal Landscape. …
  • Malacca City. …
  • Gunung Mulu National Park. …
  • Batu Caves. …
  • Multiculturalism. …
  • Malaysian Food.

What is the poorest state in Malaysia?

KOTA KINABALU: Sabah recorded the highest poverty rate at 19.5 per cent, involving 99,869 households based on the 2019 Poverty Line Income (PGK) calculation methodology.

What language do they speak in Malaysia?


What kind of city is Kuala Lumpur?

It is the country’s largest urban area and its cultural, commercial, and transportation centre. In 1972 Kuala Lumpur was designated a municipality, and in 1974 this entity and adjacent portions of surrounding Selangor state became a federal territory. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, at dusk.

What are the 13 states in Malaysia?


State Capital ISO
Sabah Kota Kinabalu MY-12
Sarawak Kuching MY-13
Selangor Shah Alam MY-10
Terengganu Kuala Terengganu MY-11

What is the second biggest city in Malaysia?

Biggest Cities In Malaysia

Rank Biggest Cities in Malaysia Metro Population
1 Kuala Lumpur 7,200,000
2 George Town of Penang 2,412,616
3 Ipoh 657,892
4 Johor Bahru 497,067

How can I become a city in Malaysia?

“Among the basic criteria for granting City status on a local government is that it has a minimum population of 500,000 and an annual income of not less than RM 100 million. For a municipal status, the minimum population is 150,000 with an annual income of not less than RM 20 million.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How long is flight from Jakarta to Australia?

What is the name of the best city in Malaysia?

15 Best Cities to Visit in Malaysia

  • Alor Setar. dreamstime/© Aisyaqilumar. …
  • Semporna. dreamstime/© Hetuchuangyi. …
  • Putrajaya. flickr/DerFussi. …
  • Sandakan. dreamstime/© Natursports. …
  • Kuantan. …
  • Johor Bahru. …
  • Kuala Terengganu. …
  • Kota Bharu.


What is City example?

The definition of a city is a town of significant size or an urban area with self-government. An example of a city is Manhattan. The financial and commercial center of London. … A center of population, commerce, and culture; a town of significant size and importance.

Which city is near to Malaysia?

Kuala Lumpur

Closest Cities KM
Pakanbaru, Indonesia 289
Johor Bahru, Malaysia 295
Singapore, Singapore 317
Medan, Indonesia 338
Travel Blog