How many train lines are there in Singapore?

Today, more than 130 stations across six MRT lines span the island. This 200km system has over three million daily ridership.

How many train lines does Singapore have?

The current MRT network consists of six main lines: the North South Line, East West Line, Circle Line and Thomson–East Coast Line operated by SMRT Trains (SMRT Corporation) and the North East Line and Downtown Line operated by SBS Transit.

How many lines are there in MRT?

Officially launched in 1988, the MRT system currently comprises four main lines: North-South, East-West, North-East and Circle. Additional lines are in the process of construction.

What are the different MRT lines?

MRT Lines

  • North-South Line. 4 NS1 Jurong East | 5 NS28 Marina South Pier. …
  • East-West Line. 1 EW1 Pasir Ris | 2 EW33 Tuas Link | 3 CG2 Changi Airport. …
  • North East Line. 6 NE1 HarbourFront | 7 NE17 Punggol. …
  • Circle Line. 8 CC1 Dhoby Ghaut | 9 CC29 HarbourFront | 10 CE2 Marina Bay. …
  • Downtown Line. …
  • Thomson-East Coast Line.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  What leaf is used in Thai food?

How many MRT lines are there in 2025?

[1] This comprises 34 MRT stations (including Downtown Line Stage 2) and 6 LRT stations.

What is the longest MRT line in Singapore?

The 57.2 kilometres (35.5 mi) line is currently the longest on the MRT network (this title will be given to the Cross Island line upon its complete opening by the 2040s), with 35 stations, 8 of which (from Lavender to Tiong Bahru and Changi Airport stations) are underground.

East West MRT line.

East West line
Line length 57.2 km (35.5 mi)

Is MRT faster than LRT?

The full form of MRT is Mass Rapid Transit. LRT trains are slower than MRT carriages. The MRT system is faster than the LRT system. LRT system trains comprise of 2-4 cars each.

Which MRT has most stations?

Downtown Core has a total number of 14 stations located within and along its boundaries, making it the planning area with the most number of MRT stations. Bedok and Kallang rank second with 11 total stations. Clementi, Marina East, and Newton each have one station.

Is luggage allowed in Singapore MRT?

According to the guidelines from the Land Transport Authority (LTA), only items with dimensions below 90cm x 60cm x 30cm are allowed on the trains.

What is the full form of MRT?


Definition : Mass Rapid Transit
Category : Transport & Travel » Land Transport
Country/ Region : Singapore
Popularity :

Which MRT Line is the oldest?

We look at its history and its future. The North-South Line (NSL) or more commonly known as the red MRT line, is Singapore’s first and oldest MRT line. As the name suggests, the NSL connects the southern and northern regions of Singapore.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Why is Indonesia's economy growing so fast?

What time is the first MRT?

Train Operation Hours and Frequency

5.30am to around midnight daily.

How is MRT powered AC or DC?

Since the system’s conception in 1987, all train lines have been powered by the 750 volt DC third rail, with the exception of the North East Line which is powered by 1500 volt DC overhead lines. The North South and East West lines use an automatic train operation system similar to London Underground’s Central line.

How many MRT stations are there in Singapore in 2025?

When CCL6 opens in 2025, CCL will have a total of 33 stations with 12 interchanges to connect to all existing MRT lines and the future Thomson-East Coast Line.

Who built Singapore MRT?

The first 6 kilometres of the North South Line between Yio Chu Kang and Toa Payoh was opened on 7 November 1987, marking a milestone in Singapore MRT history.


Date Sector opened
12 March 1988 Tiong Bahru – Clementi (EWL) System officially launched by Mr Lee Kuan Yew, then Prime Minister of Singapore

How many MRT stations are there in Singapore 2021?

Singapore Metro (for 2021) | 122 Stations, 6 Lines ⭐️ A Complete Guide.

Travel Blog