What does Phum mean in Khmer?

What is Phum in Khmer?

Communes of Cambodia (Khmer: ឃុំ, khum) are the third-level administrative divisions in Cambodia. They are the subdivisions of the districts of Cambodia. Communes can consist of as few as 3 or as many as 30 villages (phum), depending on population.

What does sangkat mean?

In Cambodia, a political subdivision equivalent to a quarter of a district, which is a subdivision of a city.

How many district are in Phnom Penh?

The province consists of eight districts and cities, 81 communes and 734 villages.

What is the biggest province in Cambodia?

The largest province by area is Mondulkiri and the smallest is Kep which is also the least populated province. Mondulkiri has the lowest population density.

What does Krong mean in Cambodia?

In Cambodia, a political subdivision equivalent to a municipality.

What percentage of Cambodians is Buddhist?

Thearavada Buddhism is the official religion in Cambodia which is practiced by 95 percent of the population– just like that of Thailand, Burma, Sri Lanka.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is Laos a puppet of Vietnam?

Which country is the 3rd biggest visitor to Cambodia?

China remains Cambodia’s largest tourism market, accounting for 38.7% of all tourists. It is followed by Vietnam, Laos, and Thailand, ranking second, third and fourth, respectively. Tourists from South Korea, on the other hand, declined by 20.2%, while those from the United States decreased by 1.1%, the ministry said.

What religion is practiced in Cambodia?

Religion of Cambodia. Most ethnic Khmer are Theravada (Hinayana) Buddhists (i.e., belonging to the older and more traditional of the two great schools of Buddhism, the other school being Mahayana). Until 1975 Buddhism was officially recognized as the state religion of Cambodia.

What language is spoken in Cambodia?


Who built Angkor Wat?

It was built by the Khmer King Suryavarman II in the first half of the 12th century, around the year 1110-1150, making Angkor Wat almost 900 years old. The temple complex, built in the capital of the Khmer Empire, took approximately 30 years to build.

What is the biggest lake in Cambodia?

The Tonle Sap Lake is the largest freshwater lake in South East Asia and one of the most productive inland fisheries in the world.

How many sections are there in Cambodia?

This is a list of Cambodia’s 162 districts (srok), 27 elevations (krong), and 14 sections (khan), organized by province or municipality. Each district has a code in parentheses displaying the first two digits as the province and the last two as the district representing that province.

How many provinces does Cambodia have in 2021?

Cambodia is divided into 24 provinces (khaet), they are the country’s first-level administrative divisions.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is investment income taxable in Malaysia?

What is the biggest city in Cambodia?

In 2008, approximately 1.24 million people lived in Phnum Pénh (Phnom Penh), the country’s capital, making it the biggest city in Cambodia.

Cambodia: The largest cities in 2008 (in million inhabitants)

Characteristic Inhabitants in millions

How many villages are there in Battambang?

Battambang is divided into 13 districts and one municipality which are further subdivided into 92 communes (Khmer: ឃុំ, khum), 10 sangkats (Khmer: សង្កាត់) and 810 villages (Khmer: ភូមិ, phum).

Administrative divisions.

ISO Code 02-03
District Battambang Municipality
Khmer ក្រុងបាត់ដំបង
Population (2019) 119,251
Travel Blog